Variation types of Medaka

Dieses Thema im Forum "In general spoken words" wurde erstellt von kanga, 11. Mai 2017.

1. Diese Seite verwendet Cookies. Wenn du dich weiterhin auf dieser Seite aufhältst, akzeptierst du unseren Einsatz von Cookies. Weitere Informationen
  1. kanga

kanga Registered

Dear Medaka fanciers,

I am very new in the hobby so this question seem silly but how many variation or types of Medaka are there? what I can see from facebook there are:
    1)Lame'
    2)Hikari
    3)Sold Red, Orange, Black, White etc

Are there any articles, charts etc that we can learn from. Thank you very much kindly.

Regards
    Kanga

2. Medaka Einsteiger

Medaka Einsteiger Registered

Hello Kanga,
    there are a lot of different breeding strains in the hobby. In Japan you can find over 700 registrated strains in each colors. Special Medaka books you get at moment only in japanese language. Or professional genetic books but very expansive for hobby breeders. Have a look for the english Version of the Amazonas Journal with special Medaka reports by Friedrich Bitter and Fumitoshi Mori .

3. kanga

kanga Registered

Thank you very much for the reply Mr Axel. I did put purchased a copy of the Magazine and it will arrive shortly. Medaka Italy has some good writing on the introduction to medaka but unfortunately it is in Italian....I wish that he could write something similar in English. I notice that you are also keep Endlers Livebearer and I saw a blog with your name on it?....did not realised that you are also into Medaka. Facebook facility is good for nice conversations but it terrible with records keeping as things get piled on top overtime, so if you could kindly please invite some of the veterans in the hobby to come here and convers......this would be a tremendous help with new hobbyist yet to come.

4. Medaka Einsteiger

Hello Kanga,